Technology

Apple adds new confirmation when purchasing a new subscription


Apple has introduced a new subscription way for basic subscription apps to make sure that no unwanted memberships occur with the sensor. The new subscription feature was highlighted on Twitter by developer David Barnard this afternoon and appears to have been implemented recently. 

Advertisements

With this new confirmation step, when you download an app with subscription or contains a subscription inside, which is optional, you will get a notification after the confirmation from your Face ID, Touch ID or iPad.

The popup warns that the subscription will continue unless canceled in the Settings app at least one day before a subscription period ends, requiring users to confirm the notice with an OK button or tap cancel to cancel the initiation of the subscription.

Adding a second confirmation screen to subscription purchases will thwart app developers who have been using nefarious tactics to trick users into purchasing subscriptions or making subscription costs and terms unclear. 

Accidental subscription purchases have been an ongoing problem with Touch ID iPhones where a purchase could be made unintentionally when putting a finger on the Home button (such as when pressing to exit out of the App Store), but the new confirmation screen makes it clearer that you’re initiating a recurring subscription on both Face ID and Touch ID iPhones.


About the Author

John Manor

John Manor is an author and an advertiser working for TechDomes bringing you the latest Gaming news and leaks every day. You can message John over email or Instagram.


John Manor’s favorite gear


Advertisements
Advertisements

Categories: Technology

Tagged as: ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.